My Design Style – Rustic Revival. Who Knew?

I have a habit of tearing out pictures and pages from magazines and saving them for way too long. And since it’s January 1st, I figured it was time to go through all the recipes, photos, design ides, etc. that I’ve been saving for a year.

I came across an article from the May 2009 issue of Sunset magazine that I saved that is called “One-click home design.” It lists three online decorating services that cost way less than that of a traditional interior decorator. One service, Sproost, is free. I like that price!

So I went onto the Sproost site and took quiz to see what my design style is. The quiz shows you multiple photos of rooms and you have to rate them as: Love it, Like it, Just OK, Don’t Like it, or Hate it. Based on my choices, I’m deemed Rustic Revival. I like it – or should I say I love it?!

Photo of "Rustic Revival" from LivingEtc.

“You are one of the unique individuals who loves a mix of modern and country. The clean lines of the modern softened by rustic /vintage elements is the perfect mix in your mind,” the explanation tells me. I really think that pegs me pretty well. I love modern styles furniture but couldn’t live without our antique store finds. I feel like a home needs a sense of history, even if it’s not necessarily your own. Does that make sense?

After taking the Sproost quiz, I was reminded of one of my favorite decorating books, Found Style by David and Amy Butler. (On a side note, I never realized that the book was written by Amy Butler who happens to be one of my favorite fabric designers.)

Found Style by David and Amy Butler

When I bought the book back in 2003, I fell in love with the style – modern pieces interspersed antique/garage sale/thrift store/flea market finds.

We’ve got a little decorating project in our heads for this year – changing our dining room into a “fish tank room/sitting room” and our little-used living room into the dining room. You can bet I’m going to be looking for “found style” inspiration this year!

4 Comments

Filed under decorating, style, Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Design Style – Rustic Revival. Who Knew?

  1. Oh, wow! Your home projects for this year sound so exciting! I’ll have to take the quiz and see what my style is. Though these days I feel like it’s “Fisher Price/Baby Einstein modern.” 😉

  2. I LOVE YOUR BLOG HEADER! That is so like breath taking and unique

  3. Pingback: Corralling the Magazine Obsession « curious oyster

Leave a Reply

