I Made Bread – And It Was Good!

Woo hoo, you say. Bread, no big deal. OK, so it’s isn’t like I built the Taj Mahal, but I’ve always thought it would be fun to learn how to make real bread – not just banana bread or the like. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE banana bread, but I don’t want to eat it every day.

I made real artisan, taste-like-you-bought-it-at-the-bakery bread. And it was easy!

One of my “Things to Do in 2010” was learn how to make bread, so I bought the book, “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.” Five minutes a day? Really? Yes, it’s really true. I’m always skeptical about the prep time recipes list since it usually takes me longer than what is stated, but the title of this book doesn’t lie.

I started yesterday morning, and it took about 10 minutes to combine the ingredients and put it in the container where it rises and is stored in the refrigerator. And I must note that this 10 minutes included a brief “potty break” as my daughter who is in the midst of potty training had “to go to the potty NOW!” while I was putting flour into the mixer. So 10 minutes is a bit of a lengthened prep time.

After two hours of resting time at room temp, the dough was put into the refrigerator for about 4 hours. You make enough dough to last you about a week – making one loaf a day. After the four hours of chilling, I cut off enough dough to make a loaf and rounded the dough into a French boule shape (that’s the round loaf with slashes on the top), which took only about a minute. After letting it rest for 40 minutes, I popped it into the oven for 25 minutes, and Voila! Bread.

My husband, who is often leery of my new culinary adventures, even loved it. My kids ate it up. We sat and ate it before dinner with some brie. Oh la la. We thought we were French for an evening! I’m gonna make more tonight!

3 Comments

Filed under food, recipe, Uncategorized

3 responses to “I Made Bread – And It Was Good!

  1. Oh, I might have to get that book or steal your recipe. I’ve made homemade bread many times and only had one delicious loaf. It was a lengthy process and I’ve never been able to repeat the yummy results…

  2. john Piepkorn

    Alyse-

    I’ve been loving this book for at least 2 years now. I’ve made 4 loaves of Ciabatta this week alone. Check out the peasant loaves but add about 1/4 less flour than called for, add some vermont cheese and dried garlic flakes and it is fantastic. I also make the peasant bread dough and then just grab it out of the fridge and put it in a frying pan (covered so it steams) for about 3 minutes a side and it is ready to eat with chili or with Indian Dal…even my kids eat it up. A word of warning: give some of your bread away or you will gain weight like Ann and I did when we first got the book…

    JP

    • avordermark

      Thanks for the tips! I will definitely try your suggestions – especially the one about giving bread away. We’ve already had 4 loaves this week. I told Ric that I’d skip bread next week otherwise we’d gain massive amounts of weight!

Leave a Reply

