Who Loves Junk? I Do!

I’m so excited to be a part of the JUNK Love revolution! In my first installment I’d like to share some “junk” that was actually found by my junk-lovin’ hubby.

My husband was the one who actually turned me onto antiquing – I use the term loosely since our idea of makes an old thing valuable is probably different than what some true antiquers think. I (and the hubby too) look for things that are sometimes functional, sometimes out of the ordinary, but always pretty in some way.

My hubby found this travel chest in Peoria, Illinois – which happens to be one of the best towns for affordable antiquing that I’ve ever been to. I love how the trunk has history with the initials painted on the side and the return address label.

We’ve used the trunk for storage – mainly blankets and the like. But sometimes for more intriguing objects…A friend of our 6-year-old-son’s came into the house one day and said, “What do you keep in the trunk?” My husband looked at me and said, “That’s where we keep Emerson’s brother.” The boy looked at him and then at me with a horrified expression. “Really?” “Yes,” I said. More stares. We let it linger for a an excruciating long 30 or so seconds. Then, “No, Emerson doesn’t have a brother. But if he did, we’d keep him in there,” hubby said. C’mon, get a sense of humor, kid!

Hope you like my JUNK! To see more junk, click on the links on the right for more Junk Lovers. If you want to be added to the Junk Love Club, just leave a comment, and I’ll add you to my list.

Happy Wednesday!

3 Comments

Filed under decorating, inspiration, junk love, style

3 responses to “Who Loves Junk? I Do!

  1. You and Em have the same junk trunk… hehe I need one now just to fit into the club lol…

    xo Steph

  2. avordermark

    Funny huh! We love the trunks! Junk in the Trunk, as they say?!

  3. What an amazing find, gorgeous trunk – looks like it is full of stories.

Leave a Reply

