It’s Spring in Oregon

Having grown up in the Midwest, I have a real appreciation for the coming of Spring. Saying goodbye to the nasty cold, snowy winters and saying hello to Robin Redbreast and the first crocuses – that sometimes popped up through the melting snow – was always a joyous celebration. I’ve lived lots of places – from cold Minneapolis to HOT Phoenix – but this spring I am truly grateful for living in Oregon.

It’s February 22, and the spring flowers are blooming, buds are on the trees, and we’ve even mowed the lawn twice already. It’s been a pretty crappy winter for you brave souls in the Midwest and East, but this winter has been the BEST in Oregon since we’ve moved in…and it’s been 6 years since we set roots here. We’ve only had one day of snow. Yes, one day. It started snowing at about 2 in the afternoon. We got about 4 inches, and by morning, it was all gone. (Of course, I probably just jinxed us.)

I got out this weekend and took a few photos of “springness.” I hope these give you a little hope that spring is on its way!

2 Comments

Filed under inspiration, photography, Uncategorized

2 responses to “It’s Spring in Oregon

  1. Oh, I just adore irises. I don’t know why I’ve never planted them anywhere I’ve lived. I vow to do it whenever we finally find a new house…

  2. avordermark

    Ric has planted a variety of them, which is nice. This one, though can’t tell from the photo, is a miniature version. The flower head is only about an inch and a half big. Maybe you’ll have a new house this year and can have all the irises you want next spring!

Leave a Reply

