Blowin’ in the Junk Love

So this week, I’d like to share my Westinghouse fan to the Junk Love Club. Though not a total piece of junk since it is in working condition and not all that unique, I do love it! We’ve (I use we as my husband is as much a lover of Junk as I am) come across many an old fan during our junk finding excursions, but this one is in the best shape as any we’ve found.

We don’t use this fan much even though it works because of an incident we had a while back with another vintage fan. Back in our Minneapolis days, we lived in a great 1910 home that quite predictably did not have air conditioning. After finding a fan at an antique store, we thought it would be cool (pun intended) to use it, as it still worked.

We used the fan pretty much every night during the summer, that is, until one night I woke up to the smell of smoke. We both burst out of bed and ran out of the room to see where the fire was. We didn’t see anything until I returned to room to see the fan motor in small blue flames. Yikes! We put the fire out and both thanked our stars that the fan hadn’t been sitting next to the window with curtains. And from that night on we vowed to only use our vintage fans for decoration. Lesson learned.

Anyhow…beside the fact that vintage fans are fire hazards and potential finger-cutter-offers, I love the industrial look of them. Junky Fans Rule!

Do you have Junk you want to share? Join the Junk Love Club over at Emmaroseart, and we’ll come see every Wednesday!

4 Comments

Filed under decorating, inspiration, junk love, style

4 responses to “Blowin’ in the Junk Love

  1. Ooo lovely vintage fan! hmmm yeah probably best for decoration, i want to buy my friend a vintage teasmaid but wasnt sure of the saftey aspect, but they are beautiful! Cant wait for junk love next week 🙂 xx

  2. john pip

    Alyse-

    I have a fan just like that, same brand and everything, but it is blue instead of silver. We also call it the “finger chopper” fan. I think I bought it for $1 at a garage sale.
    Now you just need to find one of those vintage exercise machines with the belt like I used to have then you’ll be set.

  3. Oh My Gosh… scary stuff. I think you should take a heap of photo close up and frame them in one frame to hang where the fan would go… hehe finger chopper!!

    xo Steph

Leave a Reply

