San Francisco’s Chinatown

We went to San Francisco last month. I posted some photos from the Steinhart Aquarium a few weeks ago but forgot about the Chinatown ones until I was going through some other photos.

I’ve always loved San Francisco’s Chinatown. I find it nostalgic. The first time my hubby (who was just my boyfriend at the time) and I went to San Francisco we stayed in a little place called the Grant Plaza Hotel which is right in the heart of Chinatown. It was clean and inexpensive. No frills, but to two people who were barely making a living, it was perfect. So perfect that we stayed there again when we went to San Fran on our honeymoon a year later.

It’s always a trip to walk through Chinatown – the touristy junk, dim sum, barbecued chickens hanging upside down in the windows, dried fish parts.

I love red. And there is so much red in Chinatown.

I don’t usually take photos of people. It seems very invasive to me, but I took this photo under the ruse of photographing the building behind her. I think old Asian people look like they possess so much wisdom.

I hope I look wise when I’m old and wrinkly!

1 Comment

Filed under photography, style, travel

One response to “San Francisco’s Chinatown

  1. what a great holiday! Thanks for the visual journey : ) lovely…

Leave a Reply

